Hanging Out With Family

I’ve been staying with my cousins Jerry and Claudia while I’ve been visiting Michigan. This afternoon we went to see my Uncle Dick and Aunt Eloise.

Uncle Dick is my mother’s older brother and Jerry my cousin is the youngest of his three sons. Dick and Eloise married over 20 years ago when they had both been recently widowed. The two couples were good friends over many years and Eloise had even been Dick’s secretary at one point when he was the minister at a Methodist church in Muskegon. She and his first wife were golf buddies.

Just over a year ago I was at Eloise’s 100th birthday party! At 101 she’s a ‘tough old bird’ - as she describes herself often! When she married Dick she robbed the cradle - he just turned 90 in December! They live in a wonderful retirement community in Grand Rapids where they are well taken care of while having as much independence as they can. They love it there, and Jerry and Claudia live nearby as well as lots of other family. It was a precious visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.