Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Patchy

It's been snowing much of the day, much to my delight.  I've wasted spent most of the day taking photos of the hoards of birds at our feeders which is always a very enjoyable activity for me.  This particular cardinal has what I believe is a form of leaucism, where not all of his feathers are red.  In fact, he has large patches of a pale yellowish-tan color on his flanks and belly.  Very interesting and not something I've seen before in this species.  I think you can see it fairly well in this image, but compare to the "normal" male cardinal in Extra if you'd like.

Edit: this is actually a late-brood male who did not completely molt into his big-boy feathers yet. He will probably not molt to full red until after this year’s breeding season.

I was able to resolve the problem on my computer fairly easily today.  Wasn't the internet as I'd originally thought, but instead a problem with my browser.  I cleared the cache and - voila - everything is now working fine.  So if you want to click back, you can see a proper photo of yesterday's cute little wren.  

No gym today since the roads were/are kind of a mess.  And, to be honest, I didn't want to miss an hour of photo ops with this lovely snow.  I think we'll have 4 or so inches by the time its done and then our temperatures drop with the "polar vortex" - which means more birds-in-snow pics tomorrow!  Tomorrow also happens to be my birthday - not entirely sure how I actually feel about getting another year older, but as mom always says - it beats the alternative.

Off to sit in front of the fire now.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.