Toto’s Day

Toto knew something was a bit strange when he didnt get his breakfast this morning! He whined and moaned and we basically had to ignore him and go about our business!

When I said we were going in the car his ears pricked up a bit but he still looked wary. Then when i took a couple of shots of him in the office before we left i knew he was totally nervous because he didnt bat an eyelid at the phone!! ; (. Here he is trying to be brave and face whatever was coming!!

His favourite lady at the vet was there to greet him and he seemed just puzzled at this point. As I waved goodbye to him his tail went down and he just looked sad! I felt really bad too!!

I was ringing them by about midday asking how it was going and they said there had been a few emergencies and Toto hadn’t been done yet but should come up soon.

I rang again at 2pm and he still hadn’t been done ;(. All i could think of was how hungry he must be!

They rang me at 3pm saying he was done and pretty zonked out and asked me to come in at 5.30 to pick him up and for a talk to the vet and my heart sank!

Sorry this is so long winded, its been a long day ;o) It turns out its not the cruciate ligament (thank goodness) but arthritis (not that great either)!! Poor Toto, he has it in the hip on one leg and the knee on the other leg, so favouring one just exacerbates the other.

They have given him an injection and he’s to stay on the anti inflammatories and really needs to lose a couple more kilos ( he loves his food) which should help a lot!

Tonight he has been alternating between very vague and sleepy then alert and hungry and then back to sleepy, by tomorrow he should be back to his old self ;o). I’m glad we finally know exactly what is wrong and can now do things to help him.

I’m falling asleep as i write so i’m heading off to bed, catch up tomorrow ;o)x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.