Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Of frost and birthdays

Such a heavy frost this morning.  Walking to the nature reserve before breakfast, pockets full of bird food, I almost found myself skipping about to keep warm and singing In the bleak midwinter, loooong ago..  (I said, 'almost.')  Funnily enough, though, the birds weren't waiting for me to feed them, they'd flitted elsewhere looking for the all important meal.  So I left a generous scattering and went in search of frost flowers instead, like this magnificent hogweed.

And this afternoon, it being OG's birthday, I went round to his house with prosecco, lemon drizzle cake and a bottle of rather nice aftershave that he decided would encourage the ladies at his monthly outing.  And yes, blind though he is I stuck a candle on his piece of cake, lit it and got him to blow it out.  We had a lovely and fairly hilarious time!

Friday tomorrow.  Goodness, how the weeks fly by.  Have a great evening.  Will we (on this side of the world) all be snowed in by tomorrow?  We'll have to borrow some summer off the Kiwis and Aussies.  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.