It was -3C...

...when I went out this morning, the hill adjoining my road had eventually been gritted so it was finally safe, although my road itself leading to the hill is still snow and ice, and it was minus 3C nearly all day...just started warming up to 1C at 17:40 pm.

I did these gel prints at art group this afternoon. I am fairly pleased with them.

But when I got home, I found the bin men had placed my wheelie bin right in the centre of my driveway. (They had placed everyone's wheelie bang in the middle of their driveways so people can't drive/back into their driveways without getting out of their cars and move their wheelie first). This meant I couldn't back my car into my driveway.

So, I had to stop car, get out of the car on to the road of snow and thick ice. I nearly did the splits. I am hanging on to both my crutches and the side of the car inching my way to the wheelie. I am cursing the bin men. Couldn't they have put it back to the side by the wall where I left it to be collected? I had salted my driveway so I could get to car from bungalow without having a skating accident, and a bit further for the postman etc to reach the front door.

When I got back into the car, after sliding all over the place on the icy road, terrified I was going to hurt myself, I then tried to continue to back into the driveway. But the back wheels had no grip now because I'd had to stop the car to move the wheelie bin. The back wheels were just spinning and the car sliding its back end.

I am not getting out of the car again. It's not safe for me on that icy road. I inched the car forwards slowly. Then once I was sure all wheels had a grip, I then managed to back into my driveway in one move and no skidding.

In bed now.

I have enough supplies not to go out for a week if needed now. I am not taking the car out in my road until that ice has melted.

Thank you for your comments and love.
Take care x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.