Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Broken

The pond in Benmore Gardens has been frozen all week, but some cataclysm had overtaken a corner of it this afternoon and left this crazy paving effect. You can see how the open water is again freezing - that sort of porridge look on the surface is unmistakeable.

I felt we probably wasted much of this mainly beautiful day, doing everyday things like shopping (the larder was almost bare) and completing a choral arrangement (Mr PB), but we really can't live every day as though we were on holiday - can we? I think when I was teaching I saw retired life as just that - all the year as playing holiday, as Shakespeare puts it - but all that happens is that the tasks we fitted in around the working day now expand, like gases (whose law was that? Boyle's?) to fill the available space. 

And I also made a pot of the most delicious soup ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.