Albert, The Mayor and The Bus...

"Albert!  Get off that horse !  Sort out the Mayor and get that bus out of my square!" ordered Victoria.

Wolverhampton was the sculpture destination today.  We planned to go early (For us!) so we got there while the car park was relatively empty.  Problem number 1, we couldn't sort out how to pay to park - no machines, just a phone number or website.  That took half an hour surrounded by other people, some of whom could get it to work and some, like us, who couldn't.  We were frozen!!!!  So, straight to the coffee shop for a bacon sandwich and hot drink.  Problem number 2, google pay wouldn't work for me and I hadn't got a card to pay with.  Super Handyman husband to the rescue!  We warmed up and headed off towards St Peter's Church where we knew there were about 5 sculptures and we could go through Queen Square and the iconic statue of Prince Albert on his horse.  Problem number 3 came whilst trying to get some decent shots in the bright sunlight and deep shadows, with frozen hands.  Needless to say the shots are very mixed and will need a bit of work on them.
On the way back to warmth inside we had to pass Prince Albert again and I was rather stuck by the juxtaposition of two men who may or may not have/have had some power - Albert and the Mayor of the West Midlands.  I was also intrigued by the relevant modes of transport - Albert on his rather magnificent horse - eco-friendly and beautiful but a bit slow, and the Mayor on his bus- big rather unattractive and workmanlike.  I wonder why he needs a whole bus?  I wish I'd gone and asked him.  I'd like to be in on a conversation between the two men...

Problem number 4 came this afternoon with a phone call from Dad to say Mom had fallen over outside and he couldn't get her up.  I don't know what she was doing outside - there are steps out of the kitchen door onto the patio.  SHH and I lifted her up and she had no visible injuries and did not appear to be in any pain - just very wobbly and not knowing what had happened.  So we sat and had a cuppa and then I brought her home with me because she was coming for her evening meal anyway.  Hope there aren't too many bruises tomorrow.

The rest of the day has been easier...

Maybe I could have talked to the mayor about provision for those living with dementia.  I'm sure Prince Albert would have opinions on such matters...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.