Salford Saturday!

The hotel I was staying in is in Salford and as I was up with the lark and not one for sitting around, I asked the receptioniest how long it would take to walk to the Salford Quays, (where I was to meet Sara about lunchtime). and it was about half an hour so off I set (later found out that there was a shooting at the McDonalds further on my route (ignorance is bliss though, but thought it looked a wee bit dodgy in bits....)!

What a great place, all been regenerated over the years with stylish flats, smart walkway, the War Museum, The Lowry, The Lowry Outlets shopping Centre, The BBC Media Centre, all fabulous! Wandered around with the camera, had a chat with a few random people, coffe and scone in The Lowry, which is a spectacular waterside building housing theatres, galleries, bars, cafe - loved it!! Sara arrived and we went to a photography exhibition which was of favourite comedians from the 40s onwards - then on to the LS Lowry exhibition of his paintings - amazing! Then on to the Peter Blake exhibition - again fabulous!! There was also a juke box and had to play Elvis as there was Peter Blake Evis stuff - this cowboy guy is something to do with the Beatles but it's is too rambling to talk about......

and my computer is a nightmare of slowness........

So all that culture, had to do some shopping - outdoor Victorian market, then into the Outlets - Molton Brown was out favourite shop...... bargains!!!

We to eat and drink around 7pm when everything else shut and we had a fabulous evening of eating and drinking and chatting and laughing and it seems that when I went to the toilet there was some shennanigans with some extra JD's being slipped into my coke..........

Anyway, had a FANTASTIC day in Salford - thanks Sara for being such great company and I had a ball!! (I would put a link but this has taken hours to do.......)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.