NellieD

By NellieD

Memory Walk

I'm afraid the child in me still finds this sort of thing amusing! 

Last time I found a carrot like this (which was very male looking indeed), I dropped the pan from laughing and my oven door smashed into a million tiny pieces. A costly mistake I didn't make again.

I've just signed up to do the Memory Walk in March hosted by the Alzheimer's Society. My friend (and fellow Blipper) has organised a team to walk the 5 km course around Salford Quays at night. 

My mother-in-law had dementia and it was such a cruel illness. When she was moved into a hospice towards the end, I suggested my husband take my CD player and play her favourite singer - Frank Sinatra - to see if it would help her settle. After 18 months of not speaking, my husband was in tears when she suddenly said "Sinatra is such a good singer isn't he". It was only one short sentence, and she never spoke again, but it makes you realise the power of music.

Quote for today:
The disease might hide the person underneath, but there's still a person in there who needs your love and attention.
- Jamie Calandriello
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.