MONO MONDAY - TENSION

Tension : mental or emotional strain - 
"a mind which is affected by stress or tension cannot think as clearly"

As you can see from this photograph of Mr. HCB standing outside Oink, the contemporary art gallery just opposite Jack's, the "tension" on Mr. HCB’s is almost palpable because I have just mentioned to him that we need to go shopping! 

What is it with men and shopping? 

How do they think food is put on the table if no-one ever goes shopping? 

Well for the next 4 days, Mr. HCB can either go shopping or go hungry - I am off tomorrow morning for a spa break at Ragdale Hall in Leicestershire with my friend, Sue.  We are both travelling by train, Sue from Darlington and me from Swindon and before you ask, "No, I haven't put meals in the freezer for Mr. HCB!"  I'm sure he is well able to look after himself and I'm equally sure our friendly neighbour, Lynn, won't let him go hungry - but I have made a lovely mincemeat cake for him and no doubt that will all be gone by the time I get home on Friday.

Thankfully the snow has almost gone, with just occasional areas of white left - I must admit that it does look rather bleak and dreary now. - there is something about the whiteness of pristine snow that makes the world look so beautiful, even though it was lethal underfoot.  

Mr. HCB very kindly took me out to Jack's for coffee (but I paid - not sure how that happened again!)  and treated me to lunch - part present from him and also courtesy of some friends for my birthday, so I don't have to cook this evening.  However, having written that, I am now beginning to feel a little guilty that I haven't filled the freezer with mouth-watering meals for him, but it's too late now - I need to go and pack!

We are only allowed to use mobile phones in our rooms at Ragdale Hall - so I won't be commenting much, if at all, although I hope to post my Blip each day.

“Sometimes all we need 
     is a little pampering 
          to help us feel better...” 
Charles M. Schulz : Peanuts Guide to Life

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.