Hints for Valentine's Day

One of the local florists is dropping hints to all who walk past its windows in early February...

I've enjoyed quite a sociable day. Our neighbour Shirley popped down our steps for lunch, then this evening I met some of my book group pals for supper and a movie at the Filmhouse.

The film was Mary Queen of Scots. I read the book on which it was based about fifteen years ago, so was rather surprised to find that the 'plot' deviated from the supposed history recounted in the book. Much was missed out, and the factual/visual inaccuracies were quite obvious to me.

However, there was much to recommend the film. I loved David Tennant as John Knox. At one point when he was shouting about the terrible threat to the nation, it was as if he knew that the Daleks were on their way! I was also pleased to spend two hours in the on-screen company of two heroines who share my colouring. The special effects were good: I was completely taken by surprise by the explosion in the Kirk o'Fields scene even though I knew it was coming, and Queen Elizabeth's complexion for the period when she was afflicted by the pox was most impressive.

Ridgeback13, ArcLight, and Winsford have also written about our trip out to the cinema.

Exercise today: sit-ups, weights, and stretches, 1 hour on the exercise bike, some walking (8,826 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.