Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A panoramic view

I spent the morning doing errands, including going to another village to deposit some cheques for my arts society events, as the Nat West branch in our village has closed down - so many have these days. What with bank branches closing down due to online banking, many shops closing down and even police stations all closing down it is a different world these days. (Now doesn’t that make me sound old!!)

This afternoon I was booked on to a sushi making course at our local club. I had booked it months ago and I had almost forgotten it was coming up. It was terrific afternoon and so much fun creating all the wonderful sushi rolls. The chef was Brazilian who owns a sushi restaurant in London - apparently Brazil has the largest Japanese community outside of Japan. The most important thing with making sushi is getting the sushi rice cooked correctly, which he had already done for us. The rest is quite easy really, just rolling correctly and thinking up good combinations for the fillings. We made Nigiri, Hosomaki, Futomaki, Urumaki, Temaki.... using salmon, tuna, seabass, prawns, asparagus, tender stem broccoli, mushrooms, cucumber, avo.... all very creative and colourful. They served champagne all afternoon while we were busy and then we ate what we had made, but I still had enough to take home for Gavin. (I did not drink too much as I was driving)

Today I decided to attempt a panoramic image as when I was in Scotland I learnt of a really easy peasy way to do pano shots using only Camera Raw. Interesting that the pro photographer running the workshop uses Camera Raw and Photoshop and not Lightroom, which he says he finds clunky (so do I!) Also interesting that 4 out of 7 of us had exactly the same camera as me, and there were no Canon cameras, they were all Nikons and one Sony camera :) !! I am not sure if this panoramic image qualifies for Wide Wednesday, to me it's a traditional image of the English countryside.

My poor brother is still very weak and ill. He ate his first proper meal in two weeks last night and has lost so much weight. He has to go back to the hospital every day for about 2 hours for an intravenous drip of more antibiotics and other stuff. Incredible to think he nearly died from the bite of a nasty little tick. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.