An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Flowers for Mum L...

We were supposed to start the day with a swim but David wasn't feeling great (cold coming on) so decided to give it a miss.  

I was just setting back under the quilt to enjoy my unexpected extra hour of sleep when my mobile rang and I saw it was my stepdad John ringing.  Early morning or late night phone calls always sets my spider senses tingling and I was right to be alerted.  

John was phoning from hospital to say he's been suffering with chest pain but has been ignoring it as he didn't want anything to jeopardise his long awaited knee op at the end of the month (yes I will be having words with him about that!) but the pain got worse yesterday so he thought he better get it checked out.  He's currently undergoing tests and will be in hospital for a few days at least, till they have all the test results and have a better idea of what's been happening.  

He sounded well on the phone but I am worried about him.  He's so active for his age and looks so much younger that I forget he's 81!  Certainly if a positive attitude helps then he has that by the cart load.  Fingers crossed it's just a little blip.

Today would have been David's mum's 84th birthday.   Happy Birthday Mum L.  There's not a day goes by where I don't think of you and smile.  Listening to this and lots of happy memories of you flood my mind.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.