Sea salt and true grit

Lovely sunny morning so we walked down to the town and I went to the North Pier to watch the unloading of a cargo ship on to a never-ending string of lorries. The pier was strictly out-of-bounds to pedestrians, but the council man in charge beckoned me along the back of the railings where I could see the action without getting flattened. He was quite enthusiastic and told me that it was road salt being delivered from the Emerald Isle. Well he said Ireland actually, but I preferred my version. He told me I should come back later when the machine was being reloaded on to its transport. Like 'Transformers', he said - the lorry split in half, load the machine tnen came back together. 

A bit of difficulty with converging verticals as I was far too close to the scene of the action, but I did what I could to sort it out. The roof's still rising when it should be horizontal, but I've seen worse!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.