Edinburgh by Night - Princes Street

When I climbed up Calton Hill sat dusk last night I had hoped that I would be able to get a higher viewpoint from the grounds around the Old Observatory. However much to my chagrin, the entrance to this area was closed. I assume that there must be a way into the restaurant area as this is certainly open any night-time. So I had to do with a lower viewpoint and chose to shoot from beside the Governor's  House ( of the Jail) as this gives a view straight down Princes Street. I did not leave until the light was sufficiently low for a long exposure time of 30 seconds as this would give me some traffic trails. However, this gives some very dark black areas which had to be worked on considerably in processing the image and I would have done much better to have a done an extra shot at a much longer exposure to bring out the details in the dark spots and then blended the two shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.