Silky Skirfare

Was up at 5.30am this morning and headed out to Arncliffe. The promise of a clear crispy morning with the sun rising at the end of the valley was an opportunity not to be missed.

I'd decided that if there was mist I would climb high onto the fells, otherwise I'd stay in the valley along the river Skirfare. As it was, it was clear so I kept low. It was still quite dark when I got there but there was a colour down the valley that showed the sun wasn't far off. I took advantage of the dark and took some long exposure photo's to get that silky water effect. I've never tried that before but thought it was worth the experiment.

I carried on down the valley, eerie silence and curious sheep accompanied me as a cloud bank formed in the distance taking away the moment of the sunrise... I took more photo's and waited for the sun to rise over the bank; it was impressive but that glorious colour that you get just before the rise had been absent.

So after all that and over an hour of photography, the first photo I took has made it on :o) If you look carefully you can see the moon there too.

I had intended to make a day of it but I fear I might be coming down with a lurgy as I just had no energy at all. Normally getting up so early is a pain at the time but as soon as you're in the fresh air there's nowhere better, but I just wanted my bed!

Thanks for the feedback for the wind turbines :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.