Better weather (Day 1376)

It hosed down with rain all yesterday afternoon, and all night. It was still raining a bit when I sploshed up the hill with the woofers this morning.
Later, as I sat drinking coffee, the rain eased off and the sky brightened. My beautiful wife suggested a trip to Stromness and a ride out on the horses, which seemed like a remarkably good idea. It seems a long time since I was on a horse, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Billy was a little "fresh" and took a bit of stopping a couple of times. I had to admit defeat in my efforts to get him to cross a small stream, then watched as HV struggled to get him across. He really didn't want to get across it. Back on him a little later, something spooked him and he slipped a bit whilst prancing around. I lost a stirrup, the girth slid round making the other stirrup way too long, but I didn't fall off. Result. 
All in all it was a great ride out and it was fabulous to be back on Billy. The pic today was taken near the spot I took yesterday's blip. The difference in the weather since yesterday is remarkable.
After lunch, HV told me I had to stay at home and watch the rugby whilst she took the woofers for a wander. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.