But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Moving Times.

Having had the hew apiary site approved by the management, I took advantage of having the right kind of weather to start moving the bees. The field will have lambing ewes in it at some time, but provided that the promised fencing is put up, that shouldn’t be a problem. If it is, the sheep will soon learn to keep away. So far, I’ve just moved the one hive stand and two hives; that was today’s plan; tomorrow’s was to move another stand and the two remaining hives. Unfortunately, I’m so knackered after shifting the slabs to provide level supports on the uneven and sloping ground, that I don’t think it would be wise to finish in the two days allocated.  Perhaps, just move the remaining slabs and stand and leave the bees for the next day.
 
Unfortunately, I’ve just noticed that the hives are a little too high for comfort; the cause is the slope that means one end of the stand is raised to make it level and they were already at the upper acceptable height limit. The bees, of course, couldn’t care less; but it is me that has to lift boxes of honey on and off the top of the hive and I’m not particularly tall or strong and, if the hives ar not level, the bees will still try and make the honey comb vertical – even though it won’t fit in the hive properly – which completely negates the point of having an easily maintained, removable frame hive. I consider that the most important tool to have in the apiary is a spirit level, I spent an hour in B&Q many years ago finding the only accurate one in their stock.
 
It was a little worrying that the bees didn’t show any interest in what was going on around them; even the 400 metre journey by wheel barrow did cause any reaction. Before I left, I pressed my ear against the sides of the hives and was rewarded with a sort of contented humming sound. Believe me; you can hear when they are unhappy.
 
My thanks to all of my friends who dropped by to wish me a happy Blip day yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.