Life through the lens...

By ValC

Signs of Spring

Tiny buds of Kerria Japonica. Also known as Japanese Rose.
I thought I had lost this plant after the Beast From The East last year,but it is a hardy plant, and soon shoots were sprouting again.
Now the first buds have appeared, and I am looking forward to the bright yellow flowers once again.

We really enjoyed last nights wine tasting, entitled “ Golden Oldies”.
Certainly some old wines tasted.
The oldest was a Spanish Rioja. Faustino I Gran Reserva 1995.
It tasted very fresh and fruity. Even after 24 years.
Nigel, our presenter, explained how wines age, and why some taste better for aging.
A very interesting and informative tasting.
My favourite of the evening was a sweet wine from France.
Chateau Belingard Monbazillac 1996.
We visited the town of Monbazillac many years ago, and after tasting the sweet wines then I have always been a fan. Not often seen on the shelves over here unfortunately.
This one was a wonderful golden colour, honey delicious, and gorgeous. We had it with apple crumble and custard.
Another great evening at The Manor Golf Club, Drighlington.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.