High Above The Traffic

I had a wonderful and very full day in London, so I'm blipping this a day late. 

The day started with a trip to the Tate Britain to seen the Don McCullin exhibition (second extra). It was a fantastic exhibition but very hard-hitting - some images brought tears to my eyes and trickling discretely down my cheeks. Well worth a visit if you can take it though! 

Then I was off to meet my son during his lunch break - the first time I've seen him since Christmas.  We ate our lunches on the terrace of the Royal Opera House overlooking Covent Garden - a great place and a great catch up - even if it was only for an hour!

Afterwards I headed towards one of my favourite areas of London for photography - More London. I got distracted en route by the prospect of great views from the walkways above Tower Bridge. I've never done that before and it was quite an experience! I admit that I was very tentative when I stepped onto the glass floor :)). You can see that I actually did so in my first extra. 

From Tower Bridge I went to City Hall - because I love to see the ceiling there through my fisheye....

It was getting dark when I finally made it to More London - and oh, what a disappointment - they have filled in the water trough that used to run right through the main walkway! And the raised areas of water, too - I couldn't believe it! Such a shame.... I find that I have now fallen out of love with the area :((

My final port of call was the area around King's Cross - the tunnel of light and then Granary Square which had lots of little coloured fountains  - really lovely!

I have so many photos but not had time to go through them - my blip had to show the part of the day that was a completely new experience for me.

A shot from the Royal Opera House over in my b&w journal

Many thanks for everything for recent blips!


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.