Behind the Red Door

I’ve no idea what is behind this red door off Lauriston Place, but it is connnected to the Lauriston Building wherein lies the NHS audiology department. I went there this morning to return one hearing aid , hardly used, in fact only used about 4 times and even then the trouble we had to get it in to the offending ear was epic. Not that His Lordship ever confessed to being the least bit deaf, it was simply that people muttered and didn’t everyone over the age of 50 have the television turned up to full volume? I fear I am going that way myself, telling the grandchildren to ‘speak up’ and having to lip read when watching their televisions.

With Daughter#2 having a week’s break from dealing with hands and the Edinburgh grandchildren on holiday for midterm, they helped me off load some of His Lordship’s stuff at the local Marie Curie shop. My Grandson remarked that with the number of pairs of shoes in the consignment, HL might well have been an octopus.

Having the car I persuaded them to take me for a look around the Craigdon Mountain Sports shop at the furthest reaches of Fairmilehead. It’s a fairly recent addition to a busy corner near the ring road but I hadn’t ever been there.
The café beckoned and the boys had exotic hot chocolate, the like of which is more or less taboo to anyone keeping a weather eye on calories- like my daughter and me.

It was so warm today, that it was a joy to discard a layer or two and still not feel chilly.This surely can’t be the end of winter...........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.