Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Stare down

You don't need to be an ethologist (go ahead, look it up - you know you want to) to see what's going on here.  The jay on the left got impatient and tried to "sneak" in to grab some seeds before the alpha jay was done.  The stare down was intense and effective and a second after I clicked the shutter, the bird on the left had skulked zoomed off to wait his turn.  You can tell that these two blue jays know each other by the way their crests are lowered, indicating that they aren't feeling alarmed or threatened.  Well, okay, maybe the one receiving the death-glare may have felt just a tiny bit threatened.  Who knows...

We ended up with several inches of snow covered by sleet, freezing rain and ice last night.  Which meant that every surface outside was like a skating rink.  Hubs suggested in the strongest terms that I not try going outside - in fact, he even carefully went around and filled all the feeders before I was up, bless him.  So, I sat in front of the fire and enjoyed the view through the window.  My photos today were all crap, which happens when you shoot through non-camera glass.  I picked this one, not because it's a good photo, but because it's funny.  I'll go for good tomorrow.

Best birds today were the band of Wild Turkeys who were slipping and sliding on the ice in our yard and patio.  Couldn't get a shot of the spooky things and didn't want to go out and scare them for fear they'd actually hurt themselves trying to run away.  Daft birds won't fly unless things get really dire.

Made it to the gym after the sun had melted the ice on the roads and had a good workout.  Hubs is off to the Man-cave tonight to work on the race car, so I plan to have a quiet evening upstairs.  

I'm sitting here right now looking at a beautiful bouquet of pink tulips that Hubs sent me for Valentine's Day.  I love tulips.  I love Hubs, too.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.