Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nice Perch...

Until the squirrels found it and removed all the acorns.  Darnit.  I had a whole series of pictures planned in my head using this perch and instead I got only a handful of mediocre shots and a decimated branch.  This image was taken at ISO1600 so it had a fair amount of noise (which I removed in Topaz DeNoise AI).  It still had to be lightened because it was so blasted gloomy and dark out.  The bird is a rather humble female House Finch.

For those who've been to my home, you know that I arrange natural perches around the feeders to facilitate my photography.  It was a handy tip I read in an article years ago by a noted wildlife photographer.  When I'm out and about, if I see an interesting branch or vine, I'll grab it and bring it home.  Yes, I'm the crazy woman who is seen dragging a tree branch to her car.  I found this lovely branch from an oak tree late last summer before the nuts were "ripe".  I snipped it and brought it home and have been saving it for just the right occasion.  I didn't factor in the blasted squirrels who basically eat anything that isn't nailed down.  Oh well. 

The rain and gloom should move out overnight, bringing much colder temps for the next few days.  Tomorrow's high will only be 26F - brrrr.  Never-the-less, I'm planning to do a lot of photography over the next few days, so I'll just bundle up and brave the temps.

An otherwise uneventful day.

xo
Debbi

Fitness notes - Elliptical today (2.5 miles) followed by upper and lower body weights and some stretching.  Feeling strong.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.