Capital adventures

By marchmont

Day of 2 halves

After a good night's sleep, sorting out of some stuff and a breakfast with too much choice (local and Western) I set off.

It was hot and sunny all day so I was glad I wore my hat. A dander round the Morning market and then a walk up the 'Champs Elysees' to the 'Arc de Triomphe' started in 1962 and never finished - Patuxay Monument. I climbed to the top for the unspectacular view of Vientiane, flat. Behind is an amazing sparkling elephant statue made entirely of crockery. Unfortunately the explanations were in Lao and Chinese.

Then a bus to Pha That Luang, the spectacular golden stupa that looks more bronze in the blip. It really is yellow gold. It was very hot and that led to my first adverse event, forgetting I had the bus timetable on me I took a tuk tuk back the 2.5 Kms to the city centre and I'm pretty sure I was ripped off, foreigner rates and even more galling the bus came along behind us. Ah well, at least I've contributed £4.14 to the local economy.

Late lunch on the way back in a coffee shop. Did I mention was very hot, 33 Deg and full sun, but there is a bit of breeze here that helps. Couple of hours by the pool with my book and checking emails. That resulted in yet another Skype call to Talktalk which resulted in adverse event 2. I'd dumped my pool stuff on the bed and after the call I sat down and broke my sunglasses, under my sarong. Doh!

Despite those delays I managed to get to the Mekong, Lao beer in hand, for the sunset and behind me on the promenade the nightly aerobics class was in full flow.

Back via the Night Market, clothes and knock offs and sunglasses (bargain at £1.35) and a beer stop. Sat outside and chatted to the bar owner who is Lao but her husband is from Halifax. We talked rugby and rubbish and ecology (she used to work for WWF) and food and sons and in laws.

Finally to the French restaurant I'd spotted on Tuesday, magret de canard, foie gras and Buzet. I haven't had Buzet since I left SW France. And I spoke (bad) French.

On the way back round the corner I realised adverse event #3. My water bottle had somehow leaked about 0.5l into my bag which was dripping and everything inside, papers, glasses, power bank was sopping. I'm hoping it will all dry out. Luckily the camera and phone were ok. Think the answer is put it in a plastic bag.

But mainly good things today. Vientiane for a capital is relaxed. Not big, traffic is very civilised and it grows on you. Quite a few non Lao, some obviously working here and tourists. That group seems more weighted to my demographic than the younger backpackers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.