Capital adventures

By marchmont

Different country, different beer

Despite all the to and fro chat about getting to the airport in the middle of the night the Grab was booked almost immediately (although it took him about 10 mins to find me) and only 50 minutes to get to KLIA2 (for 74RM). Even at 5.50 the airport was really busy but it didn't take too much time to get through to departures, even with a DIY bag drop

We landed early in Vientiane. I would have finished my book on the plane, "The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle' but I kept dozing off. (Finished it at the hotel. Recommended).

Having got through immigration really quickly (35 dollars for the visa) it was out into Laos. The airport is small but I stupidly withdrew money at a pay, not a bank, ATM at a 20000 Kip premium. Not too dire as the rate is roughly 10000 Kip to the £. Laos is also an hour behind Malaysia (actually it is Malaysia which is out keeping Beijing rather than Bangkok, sun, time), so I was in the hotel (airport bus, 15000 Kip and a helpful conductor) by 9.45. And my room was ready so I was able to unpack, refresh and finish the book before hitting the streets. The receptionist reckons travelling alone is better, you can do what you want. He is right.

Vientiane is said to be the least SE Asian capital. The traffic is not manic, crossing the road is a doddle and the pavements are there and ramped at crossings. There is still a strong French influence and loads of coffee shops. I had lunch in one in the rue where I am staying, after getting a local SIM.

It is as hot as KL but seems less humid and by evening there was a cooling breeze. I walked to the COPE centre in the afternoon, reminding folk that Laos is the most bombed country in the world and they are still clearing UXOs more than 45 years after the war ended. Came back and had a swim and a snooze by the pool until 6, just before sunset. Then a foray to the Night Market beside the Mekong followed by dinner in a local street restaurant (lack of language meant they had to replace the squid with the ordered fish) and another book, reading not listening. And it was a relatively early night, though I had been up for 19 hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.