Posh

As last year, I had to make a trip to Peterborough to renew a passport. The day service entails loitering for a few hours in a rather bleak location. Cambridge has social issues that have visibly worsened even in the few months that I've been in Mozambique, but is less representative of the country than somewhere like Peterborough, whose football team is nicknamed The Posh without any hint of irony.

I assume that the number of people suffering from clear mental health issues in UK towns and cities could be one impact of austerity providing less support for people in need. Every second person in Peterborough seemed to be having an argument with himself or trying to beat up an empty metal bench. I have never before seen such levels of instability on the street and the government needs to drastically rethink the way it prioritises the use of resources. Perhaps it's one huge tragic lack of coincidence that Brexit has sapped the leadership's energy and attention for at least three years and created multiple negative side effects, including the complete failure to tackle the innumerable social issues that affect people. There's no time for parliamentary debate and decision-making on any other matter. If people think these issues will improve under a Tory government once the Brexit fuss has died down and we're further from the moderating influence of Europe, I fear they are gravely wrong. But I hope I am wrong about that.

The passport renewal was successful and I retreated to Cambridge to enjoy a raspberry ripple cider with my friend Nelson. It was like liquified raspberry ripple ice cream with added sugar and sweetener and was too intense even for my ravenous sweet tooth.

This hideous creation is what passes for a bike shop sign in Peterborough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.