Touching a nerve

My hamstring has been giving me gip since November. I got an appointment today with a sports therapist for advice and a massage. It was very useful to realise that I don't clench my glutes enough during yoga, which has led to smaller muscles over-compensating and pinching the sciatic nerve. This explains recent tenderness in the leg and likely why so many people have lower back pain. So I am adopting a new life ethos of clenching the buttocks, and others should follow suit.

As my thigh and bum were being massaged excellently by Megan, it was awkward when Ivan called for his daily security check-in from the South Sudanese bush and I had to leap up and answer it. In the tiny windowless room a university student on a placement stood by mutely.

As we left the office, Kate and I found ourselves in tears at the latest nonsensical message from the Cambodia team. This scene plays out periodically.

For the final evening of being graced by Louise's company, we had delicious Indian including crispy kale and spicy paneer. Although it was worth it for the visual spectacle, we froze afterwards checking out the impressive light projection show on the Senate House and Gonville College (pictured).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.