TODAY 45 YEARS AGO

it was a wonderful clear and bright day as it was today, only then in 1967 the fields were white with snow. You wonder perhaps why I remember that so well. Not a riddle to me of course, it was my weddingday, so that makes today our anniversary.
Piet Hein gave me roses, red and pink ones (the pink or some call it orange ones from Mischa), when he came back from his haircut.
And after drinking coffee we cycled to the beach for a walk. Luckely I felt much better and although we walked not hours long it was very pleasant.
In the air there appeared a small plane with a banner, how strange I thought who would advert on a almost deserted beach. And then we saw the text: CERENIM BENI AFFET loves (in the form of a red heart) ALI! The plane circled above Kijkduin a lot of times. Was she looking, Ali that is?
I suggested Piet Hein how lovely it would have been when he had chartered an aircraft and that to my big surprise the banner had said PIET HEIN loves WILLEMIEN. I could have said then I know now why you wanted me to come with you to the beach.
Thank you all for the stars and favorites on my yesterday's reptile. I am not a reptile lover, never have been. In my youth I always looked in awe at the shop-window of Stol's Vivarium on the Nieuwe Rijn, not far from were we lived.
Last week when I visited Leiden I walked there and saw that it still exists but there were no scary animals to be seen.
The other shop where I always stood still was Van Uden's banketbakkerij (confectioner) that smelled so delicious even through the windows.

My haiku:

Look at that photo,
It's old but still visible
That caring young man

And the proverb:

Winter and wedlock tames man and beast.







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.