SILLY SATURDAY - NOT THE GLOVES - ME!

After my Blip earlier this week, several Blip friends and some others, have said that they would like a pair of my fingerless gloves, so as you can see, I have been busy again - but that is not the silly part.  

I went up to bed just before midnight last night, read some of my book, as usual, and then settled down to sleep.  Mr. HCB had gone up quite a while before me, so he was fast asleep and the bedroom was in darkness.  However, when I put my bedside light on, he opened his eyes and said, as he always does “I’m not asleep!” then promptly turned over and started snoring.  Even that isn’t the silly part - because I am quite used to him doing that.

No, the silly part was that I settled down at about 12.30 a.m. and at 1.15 a.m. I was still awake and wondering whether I would get up, go downstairs and get myself a milky drink to see if that would help me to go off to sleep.  I was given some wonderful Salted Caramel flavour hot chocolate for my birthday, so made a mugful of that and confess I did have one or two biscuits to go with it.

I thought it would be a good idea to catch up with “Cold Feet” as I had only seen the first episode of the new series, and by then I was wide awake, so I started to knit the second glove of the top pair.  Just after 2.00 a.m. Mr. HCB stumbled into the lounge and asked if I was all right, he having been quite surprised when he looked at the time to see that I wasn’t in bed beside him.  I told him that I just wasn’t sleepy, and having reassured him, he toddled back to bed and I carried on knitting. 

The hot chocolate did nothing to make me feel sleepy and the knitting certainly didn’t, so by 4.30 a.m., having watched 3 episodes of “Cold Feet” - and been almost in tears because Jenny had been diagnosed with breast cancer - I decided that I really must go up to bed.  Of course, by that time, I was quite cold, so I reckon - and this is the very silly part - I eventually went to sleep at about 4.45 a.m.  The Dawn Chorus and in particular, what sounded like a little robin, or some other dear little bird, had obviously had enough sleep and was singing its heart out - at which point I almost decided to get up and just finish off the glove and have done with it - but I didn’t.

However, I was awake by 7.15 a.m. so am feeling ever so slightly jaded - added to which, I think that Jo, one of the Girls About Town, has been very kind and shared her cold with me - so today may go by in a bit of a blur.

All that said, I popped over to the Post Office this morning to mail one pair of gloves to the United States - you know who you are - and another to Guernsey - and again, you know who you are.  Hope you both enjoy wearing them as much as I have enjoyed knitting them - and I promise that I don’t think either of you are silly!

“I will not let the non-knitters
     of the world decide
          how normal I am.”
Stephanie Pearl-McPhee

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.