AND SO THE STORMS CONTINUE

When we went into Church, it was raining, when we came out of Church, it was still raining and now two hours later the rain is still hammering down and even harder now.  We had a good service at Church and a good congregation, despite the awful weather, but afterwards, we decided that home was the best place to be, where it was warm and dry.

Having seen that our flowering cherry tree in the garden had some little buds bursting, before we came indoors, I decided that I would go straight out and cut one or two branches off.  Being the gentleman that he is, Mr. HCB said he would come out with me, so I changed into a waterproof anorak, picked up some secateurs and off we went squelching over the now-sodden grass and through the water on the patio.  

Most of the branches that I wanted were too high for me, so Mr. HCB said he would cut them, forgetting that if he pulled them down, I would get a faceful of raindrops - or did he forget?  I like to think he didn’t do it on purpose, but you never know!

These beautiful little pink blossoms were being buffeted by the wind, and already many of the petals are lying on the grass.  The rest of them are on a gnarled and mature tree, but each year they bring us such joy when we seem them blooming and now I can enjoy the blossoms on my kitchen windowsill.  Spring is definitely on the way, but we have to endure this very stormy and cold weather first.

Once back indoors, we heated up some home-made broccoli and blue cheese soup, which went down a treat and warmed us up well, then I took several shots of the branches.  This was my favourite so I have deleted about fifty others as I’m trying not to keep too many photographs of the same thing on my laptop.

Job done, Mr. HCB is now watching his Team, Tottenham Hotspurs, playing football and joy of joys, the TV Adaptor box is working well, so I can listen to the radio while he is spurring his team on - and yes, a pun was intended.  The score is 1-1 at the moment, but of course, he’s hoping that Spurs will win and me, well I don’t care either way and even better, I don’t have to listen to it!

A large number of flood and wind warnings have been put out by the Met Office, so we hope everyone stays safe.

"Spring will come 
     and so will happiness. 
Hold on. 
     Life will get warmer."
Anita Krizzan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.