SILLY SATURDAY - "SHUCKS, I'VE MISSED THE BUS"

I’m feeling a bit sad today, so I decided that I would go out for a walk this morning, and wanted to go on my own, but before I could get ready, the rain started - and it wasn’t just any old rain, it was horizontal rain, blown by the wind.  So that idea went “out of the window” and I had to think of something else to use for Silly Saturday.

I went upstairs to look out of one of the bedroom windows and spotted Count Duckula sitting on a box in the room our grandson often used to sleep in when he came to stay.  This was given to our younger son after he was involved in a serious road accident over thirty years ago, but I can’t, for the life of me, remember who gave it to him.  

Just as I as about to take the shot, Mr. HCB shouted that a bus had appeared near the roundabout, so I was able to include this - and it just seemed as if Count Duckula was shouting, with his lisp, “Shucks, I’ve missed the bus!”

I can’t really remember much abut Count Duckula so of course, my first port of call was Mr. Google and the story goes like this… 

“When a vampire duck is killed usually by a stake (no, not the juicy rump variety) through the heart, or exposure to sunlight, it can be bought back to life by means of a secret ritual. The latest reincarnation didn’t go according to plan though. One of the things involved in the process is blood. Only problem is that the dumb nanny picked up a bottle of ketchup instead. This slight mix up gave birth to a vegetarian vampire duck, a very funny cartoon, and David Jason’s (of "Only Fools and Horses" fame) finest hour. Count Duckula!”

What a dreadful day - the storm, “Dennis the Menace”, has arrived with a vengeance and I am so thankful we have a warm and cosy home;  once Mr. HCB has finished watching football, I might very well watch my “Downton Abbey”  DVD, a birthday present from my lovely daughter-in-law, Amanda and there may very well will be chocolate involved too - thanks to our lovely friends, Marylou and Tristram - well sometimes it just has to be done - see extra!  What could be better, on a miserable, wet and cold afternoon, than coffee with cream in Raffles Mugs and lots of chocolate!!

“I’m not a romantic, 
     but even I concede that the heart does not exist solely 
          for the purpose to pump blood.”
Violet, Dowager Countess : Downton Abbey - Season 2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.