FLOWER FRIDAY

I decided today that it was time for my little pink orchid to have its 15 minutes of fame on Blip, so tried it with a dark background and also tried over-exposing it and preferred it this way.

I never thought that I would enjoy over-exposing a shot, especially when I was always getting little “messages” on my photographs when I used film to say that I should check the exposure.  How things, and we change!

I have been knitting furiously since I now have several orders for fingerless gloves - I can see that this could run alongside my new radio career - but realised last night that I had mis-read the pattern and instead of using the equivalent of Number 5 US needles i.e. 3.75mm in English, I had used 5mm needles.  No wonder the first pair were rather large!  Anyway that has now been remedied and I have re-written the pattern to ensure that this is pointed out and also changed it in certain places so that it is no longer ambiguous!

I will paste this at the end so that anyone who saw the original pattern will be able to amend it accordingly.

Hope everyone has a great weekend - the weather today has been wonderful - in fact, we had friends round for a cuppa this afternoon and had the conservatory doors and windows open - we know it could change, so have enjoyed the sunshine while it lasted.

“The only difference between 
     an experienced knitter and new knitter 
is that the experienced knitter 
     makes bigger mistakes faster. 
Be bold; 
     there are no terrible consequences in knitting.”
Stephanie Pearl-McPhee

REVISED PATTERN FOR 2 NEEDLE FINGERLESS GLOVES

The original pattern stated : Use worsted weight yarn and US 5 needles. 

Mrs. HCB used Double Knitting wool
MAKE SURE YOU USE 3.75mm  OR 4.00 mm which is English equivalent of US 5 needles!

You need just over 50gms of yarn.
You can knit them both at the same times to ensure that they both turn out the same!  I didn’t bother to do this!

Cast on 42 sts
Knit 20 rows in K2 P2 rib - on the 20th row place markers this way:
K20 place marker, K2, place marker, k20
the 2 sts between the markers will form the increase for the thumb.

On the 21st Row, switch to stocking stitch (1 row K - right side - 1 row P - wrong side)
So Knit 1 row
Purl 1 row 
Next Row KNIT to marker, (20 sts)
Knit twice in the next stitch and in the one after that (the sts between the markers) K 20
Next row and all wrong side rows, PURL

Next Row Knit 20 sts 
Knit twice in next stitch, K2 and then K twice in the stitch before the marker making sure there are 20 stitches left on left needle.  Then K20

Continue always increasing a stitch at each marker till you have 16sts between markers.
PURL 1 row
Then

KNIT 2 rows (do not Purl a row on the wrong side!) 
Then with right side facing, k20, Cast Off 16, k20 (shaping the thumb)
Next row, (Wrong side) KNIT 19sts, K 2 tog, Knit to end
Next row - K 18 sts, k 2 tog, knit to end
You should now have 38 stitches in total.
KNIT 6 more rows

Then with wrong side facing
KNIT 6 rows in K2P2 rib
Cast off and sew up – you may need to sew just by the thumb joint

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.