FLOWER FRIDAY

…..and just to let you see that my “plonking skills” are still as good as ever!  After we had visited our friends yesterday, Mr. HCB and I went to do some shopping and as I was meeting Lin, another friend for coffee today, I thought she would like some tulips - so I bought two bunches, one for her and one for me. Mr. HCB and I have never been into the materialism of St. Valentine’s Day, so I told him not to worry, I would buy them.  However, I did think he might say that he would pay, but sadly that didn’t happen!

I daresay by now you are thinking that the beautiful red rose in the middle of the tulips was bought as a surprise for me by Mr. HCB - wrong!  Karen, a friend from the Radio Station, who works on reception on a Wednesday, gave it to me just as I was leaving after the Girls About Town programme together with a little Lindt chocolate egg - so sweet of her and very much appreciated.  I ate the chocolate yesterday and am enjoying the red rose today.

I had a lovely catch up chat with my coffee date this morning and when I got home, I wished Mr. HCB a Happy Valentine’s Day, and then he leaned over and whispered in my ear, “You're a star every day of the year!”  

We had a lovely afternoon going to the library and then to do some shopping at Aldi and I did buy Mr. HCB some of his favourite chocolate and to be fair, he did carry all the bags home - which is great. 

So “Mr. Manager of Whatever Store”, don’t rely on my husband to fill your coffers, because it’s not going to happen - but I still love him - and of course, the day isn’t over yet, so there may yet be a surprise!  

I found this beautiful quote, which says it all really:

“Thank you for being you… 
     for sharing your love with me… 
          for inspiring me to accept myself… 
for helping me see the unique beauty in imperfection… 
     for showing me that love is something you do; 
          something not just to be said, but also to be shown.
I am not perfect; neither are you. 
     I love that!
Our love is perfect, 
     and even though we may not be, 
          our love creates a bridge 
that spans over our imperfections 
     and joins us where it matters.”
Steve Maraboli 
Unapologetically You : Reflections on Life and the Human Experience

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.