EVERY PICTURE TELLS A STORY!

After a good Zoom service at Church, although the weather was grey and very windy, we decided to go for a walk but just as we set off, it started to rain.  Undeterred, we ploughed on and made for the lake;  as it wasn’t very pleasant outside we decided a quick walk to the weir and back would be enough just so that I could get a photograph for my Blip.

Walking down there wasn’t too bad, because the wind was in our back, and we only saw a couple of other people out and no families today - I guess it was just too cold.  However, it wasn’t too cold for the rats and we saw several by the edge of the lake, but I was very careful not to get too close.

When we arrived at the weir, the water was rushing over, so it was quite noisy.  Mr. HCB pointed out quite a few icy patches on the lake and after standing there watching it for sometime, we suddenly saw a huge piece of ice about to go over the weir so I just managed to get a shot of that.  It made a lot of noise as it went over and broke as it hit the water at the bottom of the weir, but it was quite spectacular to watch.  

On our way back, we saw four cygnets paddling along and the next shot amused me when I looked on my big screen, because there are three bodies and only two heads!  Would have been a good contender for Silly Saturday - obviously the one furthest from the camera had its head down looking for lunch.

You can see by our faces how cold it was;  it’s not often you see Mr. HCB without his Tilley hat on, but he decided today that a woolly hat would be much warmer, and I think he was right.  I tried not to be a wimp, but walking back into the wind was not at all pleasant. 

The Greylag goose looked good with its beautiful plumage, orange beak and pink legs and was surveying the lake before it eventually jumped off the fishing platform and swam off, either searching for its mate or for some lunch.

By that time we were thoroughly chilled, so decided that the best plan was to come  home and have some lunch ourselves, but at least we went out - however, I couldn’t measure my steps, as I had forgotten to put my Fitbit on!   I think I will probably spend the rest of the day knitting - Mr. HCB will be watching the Rugby, so I may even watch a film on my iPad.  It will certainly be a lazy Sunday afternoon although I will be cooking a nice meal for us later and we might even have a glass of red wine to celebrate the day.  

“Winter is on my head, but
     eternal spring is in my heart.”
Victor Hugo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.