ABSTRACT THURSDAY - ICM

When a challenge needs a shot with ICM - intentional camera movement - as opposed to UCM - unintentional camera movement - because your hand slipped or you pressed the shutter button too fiercely, it is quite difficult to do.

I must have taken something like a hundred shots - having just deleted the shots I took that I didn’t want to use, I actually took 273 and that doesn’t include the ones I had already deleted.  Now perhaps you can see why the housework doesn’t get done - but hey ho, I have sent in a request to the Housework Fairy to see if she can do something this afternoon whilst we are out doing “earnest good works” as my friend, Jo, calls them, visiting friends who have been poorly.  However, I am not holding my breath and I doubt Mr. HCB even sees the dust, so I do sometimes wonder why I bother - it just makes my allergy worse.

We did pop out this morning to Jack’s for a coffee and then we went into Leightons to speak to them about the TV adaptor box we had purchased for Mr. HCB so that the commentary on football matches could be linked directly to his hearing aids, rather than me having to listen to that drivel it!  

Despite us trying for ten months to make it work, it just wasn’t happening, so I persuaded Mr. HCB to go back in and speak to Adam, the audiologist, which he did a couple of weeks ago.  The result was that a new TV adaptor box was ordered and this works perfectly - so it would appear we had a “duff” box - but it’s good to know it wasn't anything we had or hadn’t done.

Whilst in Leightons, I felt a tap on my shoulder - and before you begin to think the worst, it wasn’t a policeman - but my lovely friend, Heather, whom we haven’t seen for some months, so it was great to chat with her and her husband, Michael, who was being fitted for new glasses.  She has been through some difficult times, but as usual, she was still smiling.  Heather is such an inspiration and never grumbles, despite all she has gone through - so it was a real bonus to see her and she certainly brightened up my day.

When we got home, I went out into the garden, fully dressed for those who are wondering because it was after midday and we had been out this morning - to take some shots of our beautiful polyanthus plants in the bright blue pot - using ICM.  I was quite pleased with how these turned out, so job done before we go visiting.

The sun is shining, well off and on, but we are making sure all the hatches are battened down in readiness for Storm Dennis, which is due to arrive sometime this weekend.  Stay safe everyone!

“Ultimately, the bond 
     of all companionship
          whether in marriage
               or in friendship,
is conversation.”
Oscar Wilde

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.