TINY TUESDAY - SOMETHING WE TREASURE

I have had another “lazy” getting up day - I could hear the wind howling and the rain lashing against our bedroom window, so just turned over and went back to sleep - and I realise I am very fortunate to be able to do this.  In fact, when people talk about “lockdown insomnia”, Mr. HCB and I look at one another and say, “What’s that?”  We don’t have any trouble sleeping - in fact, quite the opposite for both of us!

Mr. HCB usually brings me a cup of fruit tea to help me wake up and today was no exception.  As he was looking out of the window, he said that he could see the little snowdrops poking their heads through the soil - he had separated them last year and put them into two pots, and one is further on than the other - perhaps some of them were planted deeper. 

I was skimming through Blip while I came to and saw from a Blip friend’s entry from New Zealand that today’s theme was “Something we treasure” so the snowdrops had to be my shot for today.  These were brought from Mr. HCB’s mother’s garden after she died almost 25 years ago and they have bloomed every year since.  Of course, we both treasure them and think of her when we see them.  In fact, very often, as the evenings are getting lighter, we remember Joan, who used to say on numerous occasions, “The nights are drawing out, so it will soon be Spring.”  She was ever the optimist and of course, these are harbingers of Spring!

Joan was a keen gardener and loved nothing better than to potter around in the garden, and even latterly, when her mobility was restricted, she would often walk down her garden path and just enjoy the sights and smells of the garden that she and Harry had so lovingly created and planted over the years of their marriage.  

The tiny flowers aren’t yet fully out, but I rather liked the raindrops on this little flower - and who knows, once they are blooming, I may even Blip them again.  

“Snowdrops: 
     Theirs is a fragile 
          but hardy celebration... 
               in the very teeth of winter.”
Louise Wilder

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.