MAJESTIC OAK TREE IN MY FIELD

Today, despite the weather, I got kitted up and walk over to “my field” to take a photograph of this beautiful oak tree.  The sun was trying to break through, but it was still quite windy although thankfully it wasn’t raining.

I have taken many photographs of this particular tree so I could have used one of them instead of trudging through the mud - BUT the ethos of Blip is that the shot should be taken ON the day and when we are paying tribute to the founder of Blip, Joe Tree, I felt it would be totally wrong not to abide by the rules.

Because of the awful weather, I haven't been over to "my field" for a couple of weeks, so I was surprised to see how wet and claggy it was. I wanted to walk around the tree, but had to tread very gingerly as I don’t have wellies, only walking boots, but I managed to get quite a few shots from different angles and having done a little fartnarkling, I liked this one best.

This is the oak tree I measured back in November 2020 and as it is such a magnificent tree, thought it would be a good one to post today to thank Joe Tree for founding this fantastic site.  

Blip has become part of my daily life and since I started Blipping in January 2013, I have made and met some wonderful friends, both real and virtual, so I send a heartfelt “Thank you” to Joe for setting all this up way back in 2004.  Long may it continue! 

A majestic oak
Standing for hundreds of years
Pays tribute to Joe

Maureen Iles 17/2/2021

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.