WIDE WEDNESDAY - A LOCAL PLACE

After almost three days of rain, when I woke up this morning and the sun was shining, I knew that Mr. HCB would be anxious to get out into the garden.  However, I was really surprised when I asked him, as I normally do, each morning, “What’s the plan?” when he replied, “I thought we would go out for coffee!”  I suggested we might be able to go for a walk along the canal towpath and he agreed and as they say, “You could have knocked me down with a feather!” 

By the time we got over to Hall & Woodhouse, the sky was filling in and there were even a few spots of rain about, so I decided, whilst we were waiting for our coffee, sour dough toast and our free slice of gluten-free carrot cake, that I would go outside and take a few photographs.  Until I got home, I didn't realise that the theme for today's Wide Wednesday was "A Local Place", so for once I got something right, without even trying!

It is in a very picturesque place, being on the banks of the Wilts & Berks Canal, but boy, was it windy!  I had to be very careful not to get blown into the canal - and I know for a fact that if that had happened, Mr. HCB would have been there with his iPhone, ready to take a photograph!  

I didn’t stay out for too long as not only was it windy, but it was jolly cold too and it was obvious that the sun wasn’t going to come out to play again today, so we didn’t even have our walk.  By the time we left and went over the bridge to Waitrose to do some shopping, it was quite drizzly so there will be no pottering done in the garden this afternoon either.

As the sky was rather grey anyway, I decided to turn this into a mono shot and think it works quite well, with the different lines and it is a lovely bridge.  I used the Carbon App to make a border round the shot, if anyone is interested. 

We did do some shopping in Waitrose - well it would have been a miracle if we hadn't - and I was given a free bunch of daffodils - must be my day for freebies - so I was very happy about that. 

I decided to be a bit of a DG when we got home and whilst Mr. HCB vacuumed the lounge and hall, I dusted in the bedroom, having vacced it before we went out.  So now I can sit and read all afternoon without feeling guilty - not that I ever do - there is more to life than housework, after all, and we do have lots of good books to read.

Many thanks for your kind comments on yesterday’s drippy little snowdrop - you will note I am not commenting as much, but am trying to be more succinct with my comments on your Blips.

One thing I didn’t realise and would have celebrated yesterday had I done so, was that it was my 3,333rd Blip - nothing really special, unless you are into numbers, but just thought I would mention it.

“On days when the sky is grey, 
     the sun has not disappeared forever.”
Arnaud Desjardins

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.