ABSTRACT THURSDAY - SHAPES

This morning I had planned to make some cards, but Heather, the Co-ordinator, at the Community Fridge text me yesterday to ask if I could go in this morning as they were short staffed, so I said I would.

However, before I went, I took a few shots of my tiny orchid that has started blooming again, had a little fartnarkle with it in my iColorama app, then put a border round it using the Carbon app and this was the result.  

I’m tired now, although everyone was very kind and I sat down for some of the time, which was good because my knee was aching.  I’m now resting before we go out to Home Group tonight and perhaps I can make some cards in the morning.

I met lots of lovely people at the Community Fridge today, some I knew from my stint on a Monday and some I didn’t know, so it was good to see some new faces.  I was wearing one of my purple jumpers today and was very touched when one of the ladies said that the colour suited me and that I looked very joyful!  I told her she had made my day and she said she was pleased to have done that.  Being kind to others makes such a difference!

There was lots of bread, bananas, carrots, parsnips and potatoes, so most of those items were free, which means that they weren’t counted in with the five items people are allowed.  

We had almost 140 people through the door and that didn’t include quite a lot of children who were with their parents because it’s half term; so a good morning again and thanks to all the other volunteers for making my extra shift so enjoyable.

“Almost everything will work again
     if you unplug it for a few minutes,
          including you.” 
Anne Lamott

I also liked this quote which made me think of a special Blip friend - you know who you are! 

“When I’m tired, I rest;
     and say, ‘I can’t be a 
          superwoman today.”
Jada Pinkett Smith

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.