flavia13

By flavia13

SWEETHEART WOODS, TEBAY

Hello all,  

Well I got so relaxed yesterday after Gladders wifie Tai Chi workshop PLUS the Gorgeous and very popular Gus that I forgot to look at my Blip friends photos.  I will make up for that this afternoon.  

Anyone that has travelled up the M6 between Morecambe and Penrith , or by train from Lancaster northwards, will recognise this lovely wood.  There are many myths about it and I have a couple of favourites, but I found an archived article in a local paper which seems to clarify the reason for it.

A gentleman wrote into the Cumberland and Westmoreland Herald in 2009 saying:-
There are many myths about this wood, one says it was planted in memory of the Irish navvies who were killed constructing the railway line; another for a pilot killed in action during the Second World War.
He continues to say that his father, then in his 90s, was probably the only person still living who actually knows. He was told by his grandmother, Ruth Wakefield Goodwin, of Orton Hall, that it was planted by her husband, Harvey Goodwin, to commemorate their marriage, hence the name and shape. 
It was rather difficult to take the photo, 'cos you can't park on the motorway!!!!  So I decided to take the A685 between Kendal and Brough.  I hadn't realised what a busy road that was!!! The large car park is too far down the hill to see it.  I actually managed to park on the side into a drainage area and then walked to get a view, much to the amusement of passing motorists!!!!  
Hope you all have a great Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.