A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Lost Words

I’ve been waiting for an excuse to photograph this book.
Grace bought it over a year ago for Eda and I decided I had to have a copy for myself.
Since then of course several blippers have quite rightly featured it. Being me I just couldn’t decide which of the illustrations I liked best so, you have a collage of a few of them.

I like the letters hidden amongst others, here bluebell before the double page illustration of the fox and owl amongst the bluebells. All very familiar in our area. Like wise the hare and the Goldfinches amongst the too familiar dandelions.

The Kingfishers I have seen but failed to photograph except in India and the Otters, only seen and photographed in Canada are something I look for every year in Scotland though I am aware of nature reserves not too far away where you can spend hours watching them.
There are others equally worthy, ‘heather’ so familiar in summer on our moors, ‘heron’ very frequently seen with a heronry just down the road.
It is an amazing book and with it’s help I will be making certain that these are not ‘Lost Words’ in our family.

(Having a reading day having pulled all sorts of muscles coughing during the night!]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.