Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Mono Moday: STUFF

 As a retired teacher of mathematics and whose favorite subject in high school and unit to teach was geometry, I wanted to demonstrate that "I know my stuff!"
 
 After reviewing a whole bunch of theorems from which to select I wondered why so many people hated geometry. Looking back, it seems so easy and logical.  I watched many classmates fail because they tried to memorize every step of every proof.  Leaving out steps was fatal.  I took a different approach.  I solved every one of them step-by-step, never relying on my memory (except for the applicable postulates). 
 
That's the same approach I took when I was a teacher.  Whether it was long division or Algebra, every step had to be shown, even by my top students who were positive  they could do everything mentally. I believe it taught them discipline because these were the students who would go on to study Calculus and other higher mathematics.  I told those kids if they were to become a doctor or an engineer, etc, any missed step could be life and death.

Terms
AAS: Angle Angle Side postulate
CPCTC: Corresponding Parts of Congruent Triangles are Congruent postulate
trans.: transversal
alt int: alternate interior
equal sign covered by squiggle: congruent

       Here's my plan for next week:  I want your suggestions for a unique, fun but challenging theme. I will choose from among the suggestions (but as a woman I retain my mind-changing prerogative.)

Oops!  I forgot to include today's guffaw:
Parallel lines have so much in common... it’s a shame they’ll never meet!

Happy Monday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.