TINY TUESDAY - AND I'M GETTING THERE!

I decided that today I had to “gird up my loins”, get dressed and go out with Mr. HCB to do some shopping because I was determined this cold was not going to get the better of me.

Well that was the idea and it worked very well, up to a point.  We went to Waitrose and decided to self-scan all the groceries to make it quicker, but when we got to the check-out and “finished” our shopping, there was a beep and Nicki, the assistant working on the self-scanning till point, told us that we would have to have all our shopping re-scanned - all six bags of it!  

She was most apologetic and said that this happens at random and she had no control over it, and of course, we believed her, but that wasn’t the point.  We then had to wait until she could find someone to scan all the shopping through an actual till, so I unpacked all the shopping and put it on the conveyer belt while Mr. HCB went to the other end and re-packed it.

I had said to Nicki that the reason for us doing our shopping this way was because we wanted to do it and get out quickly, because I hadn’t been well, so she encouraged us to go and report to the Customer Service desk and then this would be passed on to the Manager.

By the time we had unpacked, repacked, then paid for everything, Nicki was coming back down from Customer Services;  she told us to go and see Ali and mention to her that we were unhappy, which we did - Ali had a lovely bouquet of flowers for me, and again apologised most profusely.  So, all’s well that ends well, but I could have done without it today.

I still have a headache, sore throat and hacking cough, but I am much better than I was.  Thank you again to everyone who has left a star, heart and lovely comment in the last few days - I appreciate your kindness and hope to back to commenting before too long.

At the moment, my brain feels rather “mushy”, which I hope is as a result of the cold virus, but time will tell.  Interestingly, one of the websites that I follow had this quote today - and it seems to fit perfectly with how I am feeling - I just hope that when I penetrate “the core”, there will be a few brain cells left!

“My brain is only a receiver, 
     in the universe there is a core 
          from which we obtain knowledge, 
               strength and inspiration. 
I have not penetrated 
     into the secrets of this core, 
          but I know that it exists.”
Nikola Tesla

P.S.  I can't believe it was a year ago today that we flew to Vietnam to visit our son - where did that year go?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.