MONO MONDAY - AND IT'S NOT A SELFIE!

I tried to get into Holy Rood Catholic Church a few weeks ago but it was locked so thought I would try again today. As a Baptist, I knew this would be a little out of my comfort zone, especially taking photographs inside a church with which I had no connection. 

I wandered around and took quite a few photographs but actually how can a beautiful stained glass window be portrayed in black and white?

So it was back to the drawing board.  I know in the course of my day I often chat to a lot of people and I do enjoy street photography so I decided that I would try and put the two together. 

Little did I know as I walked towards the town centre that a Blip was about to “drop into my lap”! 

I saw a man wearing what I thought was a face mask, but later discovered that it is a half face respirator to be worn when removing asbestos, coming out of a café that is in the process of being refurbished. I boldly went up to him, told him I was doing a photographic project and asked if he and his mate would allow me to take their photograph. 

At this point another man appeared so while the first one removed his respirator, I asked him if he too would be in the photograph and he kindly agreed. This is the result - and of course, I asked their names - no good having 15 minutes of fame on Blip if your name isn’t known!

Looking at the shot, from the left, meet John, Jimmy and Chris - who work for an asbestos removal company.  They said their job was to remove it from the building and that there was a lot in there. Chris made me laugh because he said "I'm smiling, but you can't see it!"

I told them that Mr. HCB used to work for British Rail in the factory and he remembers when they used to make asbestos into a ball and “play football” during their lunch breaks! No wonder there are so many people in our town with mesothelioma! 

Having purchased my last-minute bits and bobs, I called in to have a hot chocolate and saw this quote on the wall - these three made me smile and made me happy too!

Life is short.....
     break the RULES
          FORGIVE quickly.
               KISS slowly,
                    LOVE truly,
LAUGH uncontrollably,
     and NEVER REGRET
          anything that made you
               S M I L E !!

P.S. Apologies for not commenting at all yesterday and today's may be sparse too, as we are going to our older son's for a meal this evening and there is still lots to do before Wednesday.  Thank you for all the lovely comments, stars and hearts, though, which are much appreciated. x

"Life begins at the end of
     your comfort zone!"
Neale Donald Walsch

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.