Capital adventures

By marchmont

Cruisy day

My last in Lao. The Botanic Gardens being unavailable after a relaxing start I took the ferry across the Mekong to Chompet. Started the walk to the Wat but have up. It was hot (what else) and the view back to Luang Prabang wouldn't have been that good, into the sun. I took some photos and then the ferry back before getting to lunch the long way round.

Lunch was at Khaiphaen, a social enterprise that trains young people. The food was excellent and I even had dessert. Then a short walk to another social enterprise, Saffron, for coffee. Sat drinking coffee and watching the boats ply the Mekong, with the view of the Wat I didn't visit this morning.

Rather than buy souvenirs I don't need I bought a coffee tree at Saffron (my sticker joined the others on the trees) and donated to Khaiphaen. The remainder of my Kip were converted to Dong.

Then to the airport for a 45 minute flight to Hanoi. The airport is 30 kms out if the city so it was nearly 10 before I got to the hotel, hot and sticky.

Tomorrow I will start asking with another currency even more to the pound.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.