Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Former Hedgerow

Once the sun had burnt through the early cloud it was a glorious day here in the West Midlands.  

I'd spent the morning replacing some rotting roof felt on the canopy over our garage.  An interesting task involving removing the roof tiles on the lower courses and pushing up the higher courses to expose the battens which needed removing so I could tuck the new felt under the original.  Then it was the task of slipping new roof felt under the existing, taking it into the gutter, re-battening and replacing the tiles.  Then grouting the fillet.  It was almost like proper construction work!

All the time it was getting hotter and hotter so I gave myself a break for a walk.  I rarely get the infrared camera out so early in the year, but I decided to give it a go.  The blue sky and new growth from the grass might just make it worthwhile.  Here I'm standing on the canal towpath, on an embankment, looking across to where a hedge would have formerly been seen.  I always find it interesting that the farmers would grub out the hedge, but leave the trees.  They still seem to provide an obstacle to the cultivating equipment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.