FLOWER FRIDAY - SNOWDROPS

Photobomb - noun - a photograph that has been spoiled by the unexpected appearance of an unintended subject in the camera's field of view as the picture was taken.

Mr. HCB brought this pot of snowdrops round from the greenhouse, so that we could enjoy them outside our conservatory.  These came from his Mother’s garden after she died in 1996 and have flowered every year since, so for obvious reasons, we call them “Mum’s snowdrops.”

It's obvious that the pot has seen better days, so Mr. HCB intends to plant some of them in our "new" garden when they have finished flowering.

We have five guests coming for dinner this evening;  I needed to get my Blip done early, as I do have quite a lot of work to do, so Mr. HCB kindly put the pot in front of our blue fence, which shows them off very well.  Shots taken, he asked if he should move the pot back to the step outside the conservatory, when he noticed that there was a little ladybird just meandering along the top of it.  Of course, that changed things, so I took a few more shots and here is my offering for Flower Friday, which gives the ladybird its fifteen minutes of fame on Blip and I don’t think it has spoilt the photograph at all.  This is SOOC, which saved a lot of faffing around.

We sat in the warm conservatory to have our coffee this morning watching the blue tits and great tits looking into our bird boxes - two of them made by our friend, Sue’s husband, Robin, who died last December.  He would be thrilled.

I still have lots to do, so there probably won’t be much commenting today.  We are having venison in red wine with lots of vegetables, followed by apple and blackberry crumble - with blackberries from the garden and custard - I did suggest ice cream, but Mr. HCB is very partial to custard with his crumble, so I thought I would be kind to him.

Looking forward to seeing our friends this evening and I hope they enjoy what I’ve cooked - thank goodness I am feeling a lot better - and that it wasn’t last week they were due to come!

Birds looking in the boxes
Spring is almost here
Snowdrops nod their tiny heads

22/02/19 Maureen Iles

P.S.  This time a year ago, we were in Vietnam celebrating our younger son's birthday - wonder if he will miss us this year? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.