Cycological Wharfe Air

When you feel good, you have to make the most of it.  That's what I told myself.  I decided a trip over Malham was on the cards when Rich said he was working from home.  Two cafes and a potter.

Before the first cafe, I'd come up with the name of my ride.  I knew there would be a point at which I'd feel like I'd bitten off more than I could chew.  Hence the two cafes to pacify the mind.  

It was a very strange feeling stopping before I was tired but this was all part of the psychology game - have to say, it was rather enjoyable!  I'm usually wasted by the time I hit a cafe!

Well that happened at the second cafe but I'd been kept going by two things: 

- The joyous weather - got my clothing right this time - shorts and short sleeves were out!  

- Two amazing nature spectacles. Here, I watched, for about quarter of an hour, a starling murmuration which I think was being triggered by at least one bird of prey.  Not the hugest of flocks but an unexpected bonus in broad daylight. Shortly after this, and to my amazement, another barn owl!  The second in two days! This one was an easier ID as after it had swooped in to catch something, it headed off into a barn a little further on.

The best Yorkshire day!  Mile 43 and I thought I was toast though - still with another 20 to go (19.5 I reminded my legs; we'll get there!)

And of course, we did. Stunner!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.