Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

One Day Later...

Unlike yesterday, today was a crystal clear day.  The high was only 47°/8.3° but there was little wind.  I loved the crisp, cold air. I was surprised that there were still snowy patches on the ground but otherwise it wasn't bad. 

I took my first real walk since the ankle fracture,  about two miles, through a part of town I've never explored.  I hadn't intended to overextend myself but I kept walking to try to get the best view I could of the snow-covered mountains.  
I am now paying the price for walking such a distance.  The black, bulky broken left ankle boot is higher than the hiking boot on my other foot.  Even though I ditched the crutches for a cane, the difference killed my ankle, feet and hip.  It's ice for the rest of the night.

I had an ulterior motive for walking and walking and walking.  I had just gotten my taxes done.  I owe nothing to the state of Arizona but the IRS is smacking me with a payment obligation of $4,000. I cried when she told me. So taking off, probably to the disapproval of my doctor had she known, was a decent way to blow off the steam from that news.


I think the extra is cool because of the juxtaposition of the snowy mountains and the weird saguaro.  Not a combination often seen! Try these in large.  I think it's an incredible view.

I let Mom pick the pun today.
Q: What is the favorite Mexican food of a snowman?
A: Brrrr – itos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.