Capital adventures

By marchmont

Ha Long - day 1

A very early start, awake at 3 and up before 6 for a 7.05 departure to Ha Long Bay.

The weather is dreich, overcast and drizzly and child, like a Scottish summer in fact.

I slept half way and after 3 hours arrived 2 hours early. Sitting in the lounge I started to think again about going to Hoi An a day early and had the bright idea of using the app, and it worked! So by midday I had a flight a bed and a transfer organised for Hoi An which I think it's better than another day in Hanoi.

The boat is lovely as is my cabin, even with no balcony. After a beautiful lunch it was off to the Surprising Cave, a 3 chambered limestone cave, interesting but not spectacular.

Back to the boat for happy hour and spring roll making before a delicious 5 course dinner. I am the only lone passenger but there are 5 of us doing 2 nights and we are all together, a Korean American couple and an Australian couple.

There are many boats here and in the evening it was magical with all the boats lit up. The bay is also magical even with no sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.